Quick comparison: best cloud backup service for photos
| Service | Price on vendor page | Storage | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Backblaze Personal | $9/mo; $8.25/mo annual; $7.88/mo 2-year ($189) | Unlimited | All user data included by default; no file type or size restrictions; extended version history is a paid option |
| IDrive Personal | 5 TB $6.99/mo first year (then standard); 10 TB $10.49/mo first year | 5 TB to 100 TB | Multiple computers and mobile devices; free Basic plan 10 GB |
| iCloud+ | 50 GB $0.99; 200 GB $2.99; 2 TB $9.99 per month | 50 GB to 12 TB | Free tier 5 GB; some US states add tax |
| Google One | Paid prices not verified | 15 GB free per Google account | Managed in the Google One app |
Backblaze: best for full-computer backup
Backblaze Personal Backup lists $9 a month, $8.25 a month when paid annually (the FAQ says the annual license saves $9 a year) and $7.88 a month on the two-year option, which the FAQ lists at $189. Storage is unlimited with no restriction on the number of workstations that the page states, and the page says all user-generated data on computers and connected external drives is backed up by default with no restrictions on file type or size.
The page does not state a default version retention period; it offers optional Forever retention for an added fee. The trial is cited as 14 days in the meta description and 15 days in the FAQ, so the page is inconsistent; the signup section says no credit card is required.
- Unlimited storage at one price
- Connected external drives included
- No file type or size restrictions stated
- Trial length stated inconsistently (14 vs 15 days)
- Default version retention not stated
- Extended version history costs extra
IDrive Personal: best when you need lots of storage
IDrive Personal is sold in 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 TB tiers. The 5 TB plan is listed at $11.99 monthly, or $9.99 a month yearly reduced to $6.99 a month in the first year; the 2-year price drops from $239.76 to $179.82. The page says the discounted price applies to the first year and standard pricing applies after that.
It covers PCs, Macs, Linux machines and iOS and Android devices under one account and lists a free Basic plan with 10 GB and no credit card. The page did not state a limit on the number of computers.
- Many storage tiers up to 100 TB
- Works across desktop and mobile in one account
- Free 10 GB Basic plan
- Discount applies to the first year only
- Computer limit not stated
- Tiers above 5 TB cost significantly more
iCloud+: best for iPhone photos
Apple lists iCloud with 5 GB free and iCloud+ at 50 GB for $0.99, 200 GB for $2.99, 2 TB for $9.99, 6 TB for $29.99 and 12 TB for $59.99 per month in the US, with some states adding tax.
The Apple page we read lists prices only, so this guide does not make claims about family sharing or restore behavior.
- Cheapest paid tiers at small sizes
- Clear monthly prices
- Fits Apple devices
- Needs a jump to 2 TB at $9.99 for large libraries
- Features beyond price not confirmed here
- Not a whole-computer backup product
Google One: free 15 GB, paid prices not verified
Google states that all Google accounts include up to 15 GB of storage, which counts toward Google One plans, and that subscriptions can be cancelled at any time. Plans are managed in the Google One app.
The paid storage sizes, prices and family sharing terms were not on the page we could load, and Google’s support page returned an error, so none are quoted. Check one.google.com/about/plans for current terms.
- 15 GB free on every account
- Cancel any time
- Managed in an app most people already have
- Paid prices not verified for this guide
- Plan details not confirmed
- Storage shared with Gmail and Drive
Verdict: best cloud backup service for photos in 2026
Our short verdict on the best cloud backup service for photos: decide using the price, limits and data gaps shown above, not the headline discount.
If you are still comparing the best cloud backup service for photos, use the free plans, trials or refund windows as your real test.
If you want a set-and-forget backup of an entire computer, Backblaze is the simplest fit on published terms. If you need multi-TB storage for several devices, IDrive is the one to price carefully, since discounts apply to the first year only.
For phone photos on an iPhone, iCloud+ at $2.99 for 200 GB is the lowest-cost paid step. For Android, check Google One’s current paid plans first.
A backup should be a second copy: keep photos on one device plus one cloud service, and test a restore once.
Related guides for the best cloud backup service for photos: best password manager for families · cybersecurity software for small business.
Sources (vendor pages read October 2026): Backblaze Personal Backup · IDrive pricing · Apple iCloud+ plans · Google One
Cloud backup FAQs
What is the best cloud backup for photos?
For iPhone photos, iCloud+ is the straightforward pick ($2.99 for 200 GB, $9.99 for 2 TB). For a whole-computer backup, Backblaze is simpler.
How much does Backblaze cost?
$9 a month, $8.25 a month paid annually, or $7.88 a month on a two-year plan ($189), per its pricing page.
Does Backblaze back up external drives?
The page says user-generated data from computers and connected external drives is backed up by default.
How much does IDrive cost?
5 TB is $11.99 monthly, or $6.99 a month in the first year on the yearly plan, then standard pricing from year two.
Is there a free cloud backup option?
IDrive Basic is free with 10 GB, iCloud gives 5 GB free and Google accounts include up to 15 GB.
How much is iCloud+?
$0.99 (50 GB), $2.99 (200 GB), $9.99 (2 TB), $29.99 (6 TB) and $59.99 (12 TB) per month in the US.
What does Google One cost?
Its paid prices could not be loaded for this guide; check one.google.com/about/plans.
Is sync the same as backup?
Not always. Sync mirrors changes, so a deleted file can disappear everywhere; a backup keeps a separate copy and version history.




Leave a Reply